Paper abstracts :: Conference «Amber in the history of medicine»
  1. Home page
  2. Paper abstracts

Paper abstracts

Key Lectures

AMBER AS A COMPONENT OF PALAEONTOLOGICAL PHARMACOLOGY
Christopher Duffin
The Natural History Museum, London
cduffin@blueyonder.co.uk

SELECTION OF «POLYMER-BALTIC AMBER» AND ANALYSIS OF ITS BIOMECHANICAL PARAMETERS. MODERN STRATEGY FOR EXPERT SUCCESS MEDICAL APPLICATIONS IN BIO-TEXTILE INDUSTRY
Inga Lyashenko
Riga Technical University
inga.lasenko@inbox.lv

JUSTIFICATION OF AMBER HEALING PROPERTIES IN THE FRAME OF NATURAL PHILOSOPHY: THE HISTORY OF THE PROBLEM
Irina Polyakova
Kaliningrad Regional Amber Museum
irina.a.polyakova@mail.ru

AMBER IN ANCIENT AND MEDIEVAL PHARMACY AND MEDICINE
John M. Riddle
North Carolina State University, Raleigh, USA
jmrhi@ncsu.edu

AMBER IN MEDICINE: HOW TO PRESENT THE THEME IN A MODERN MUSEUM
Juris Salaks
Institute of the History of Medicine, Rīga Stradiņš University; Pauls Stradiņš Museum of the History of Medicine, Riga
juris.salaks@rsu.lv

Panel Papers

TRACES OF ANTIQUE IDEA ABOUT AMBER'S THERAPEUTIC QUALITIES IN THE CULTURE OF WESTERN BALTS
Sigita Baguzaite-Talackiene
Lithuanian Art Museum, Palanga Amber Museum, Lithuania
sigita.baguzaite@gmail.com

SUCCINIC ACID BIOSTIMULATING EFFECT
Albert Bogdasarov1, Maxim Bogdasarov2
1Brest Regional Department of Belarusian Geographic Society, 2A. S. Pushkin Brest State University, Belarus
bogdasarov35@mail.ru; bogdasarov73@mail.ru

THE MEDICINAL USE, PREPARATION AND APPLICATION OF BALTIC AMBER
Gail Faith Edwards
Blessed Maine Herb Farm School of Herbal Medicine Institution
gailea88@gmail.com

OBJECTIVE THINKING: EARLY-MODERN OBJECTS IN AMBER WITH CURATIVE, PRESERVATIVE & MEDICAL FUNCTIONS
Rachel King
National Museums Scotland, Edinburgh 
r.king@nms.ac.uk

MEDICAL USE OF AMBER AS A SUBJECT OF EXHIBITION AND EDUCATIONAL ACTIVITIES AT PALANGA AMBER MUSEUM
Regina Makauskienė
Palanga Amber Museum, Lithuania
regina.makauskiene@gmail.com

FIRST RUSSIAN SCIENTIFIC COLLECTION OF AMBER
Darya Novgorodova
Fersman Mineralogical Museum RAS, Moscow
Dnovgorodova@gmail.com

AMBER IN ITALY: FROM THE ETRUSCANS TO THE ROMANS
Ann C. Pizzorusso
Independent researcher, Italy / USA
tweetingdavinci@gmail.com

AMBER, INGREDIENT OF THE COSTLIEST PORTUGUESE COMPOUNDS: IDENTIFICATION AND MEDICINAL USE IN THE MEDIEVAL ANGLO-NORMAN LAPIDARIES
Maria do Sameiro Barroso
Portuguese Medical Association, Department of Medicine History
nhmom@omcne.pt; msameirobarroso@gmail.com

EXHIBITS OF AMBER IN THE MUSEUM OF HISTORY OF MEDICINE AND PHARMACY OF LITHUANIA, LITHUANIAN UNIVERSITY OF HEALTH SCIENCES
Zenona Simaitiene, Rolandas Minevicius
Museum of History of Medicine and Pharmacy of Lithuania, Lithuanian University of Health Sciences
s.zenona@gmail.com

FROM THE HISTORY OF MEDICAL MINERALOGY
Iosif Volfson
Russian Geological Society, Moscow
rosgeo@yandex.ru

Round table session

AMBER IN THE POEM DE RANA ET LACERTA, SUCCINO PRUSSIACO INSITIS BY HUMANIST DANIEL HERMANN (1543–1601)
Laura Kreigere-Liepiņa
National Library of Latvia, Riga
Laura.Kreigere@lnb.lv; lkreigereliepina@gmail.com

TOWARD THE GENRE SPECIFIC OF THE POEM BY DANIEL HERMANN DE RANA ET LACERTA, SUCCINO PRUSSIACO INSITIS
Lada Syrovatko
Lyceum 49, Kaliningrad
lvs68@mail.ru

THE BOOK COLLECTION BY DANIEL HERMANN, A POET, A DIPLOMAT AND A CIVIL SERVANT, AS A SOURCE FOR BIOGRAPHY AND CULTURE STUDIES
Aija Taimina
Academic Library of the University of Latvia, Riga
aija.taimina@lu.lv